Becoming 10

The night wind blows
strong and sure.
The wind of the world
circling in thousand mile gyres.
One night I’ll go with it
and be glad to go,
but tonight I’m anchored to rock,
letting the wind rush past me,
and happy to feel its touch.
It passes by my lover
on its way to me
plays with her hair
and carries the scent of her skin
to me, and onward out to sea.
I open my mouth
and breathe in the pain
of the distance between her
and me,
let it fill me
and overflow, and be carried
away with the night wind.

Leave a Reply

