Starlight

You fell into my atmosphere
like a shooting star and came
to rest inside my ribs. Nestled
under my heart, and warmed me with
your glow. I didn’t know then you
were still orbiting your own dark
star, and picking up speed again
you tore a hole in me wider
than my existence. Kneeling at
a corner of the hole, with torn
arteries clenched in my fists, I
watched you receding, still the
most lovely star in my heaven,
still my only light. And then,
in darkness I slipped and fell in
to the chasm you left and
drowned in my own blood.

Leave a Reply

