Stolen

It’s awkward
I hadn’t imagined
I might live
I didn’t know
Some animal part of me
fought against
my unimaginable end
and this is how it goes
I thought
this brute
this encasement
of flesh and pumping
heart
will insist
will continue
and carry me along with it
fainting and weeping
like an unwilling bride
thrown across the pommel
I’ll be stolen
and grow accustomed
to life
I thought.
I thought I knew
that I would live
but I didn’t know
I never imagined it
and now what next?
I want to go back
to my stern father
the guillotine
to what’s known
and true.
Take me back
please
so I know what’s true
again.

Leave a Reply

